Top 5 Wednesday | Settings You Want to See More Of.

Good evening, y’all!  If you didn’t see my post yesterday, my utter lack of reviews was because I would have metaphorically(?) shit on the books I read this past month.. I’ll go way more in detail tomorrow but for now I’ll do Top 5 Wednesday.

Today’s post is alllll about settings I want to see more of in books, and I have QUITE a few settings I would absolutely love.  Let’s get started!


maxresdefault.jpg

Faerie realms

If you haven’t followed my blog for long, you might not know that I am a fantasy junkie.  Whether it be young adult, new adult, etc. I am all about it.  Like most people in my generation, I grew up with Harry Potter.  During my formative years I dreamt of spells, potions, mythical creatures, and fantastic lands where anything is possible.  I’ve always been a bit of a dreamer and when I got into the “book world”, fantasy was where I felt happiest.  I loved the vampires, werewolves, magical powers, etc., but I always felt like the faerie realm was never really done justice.  The world that Sarah J. Maas has created for ACOTAR really satisfied this desire for me, but I am so waiting for more.

7f87ef4a936fc3e1e8f9e474cf7c7869.jpg

Time Travel into History

You’re probably thinking “But Cat, there are soooooo many time travel books”, and I would kind of agree with you but it’s not the kind I mean.  A couple years ago I read this series by Lisa T. Bergren called River of Times (check out the first book, Waterfallhere) and it’s basically about two sisters who touch this ancient wall and travel back in time.  There’s romance and historical fiction and it’s just such a fun read.  I have tried really hard to find more books like it but haven’t really succeeded.  I recently read Intertwine by Nichole Van and it was kind of similar, but didn’t completely do it for me.

High Fantasy Assassin anything

Ohhhhh I’m still on this bandwagon and I’m probably sitting right at the front.  I want more high fantasy assassin stories with strong FEMALE characters.  I freaking loved Maria V. Snyder’s Poison Study / Chronicles of Ixia series and Throne of Glass (how could you not…?).  I am just WAITING for the next strong female MC who will just knock my socks off.

404422.jpg

Dystopian Power Houses+Romance+Strong MC.

FYI I had no idea how to classify this, LOL.  So when I first thought of this, I realized a lot of people would think I’m referring to the fluffy Selection series by Kiera Cass, but that’s not really what I’m targeting.  I’m thinking more along the lines of The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel (see my Review: The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel) or The Queen of All That Dies by Laura Thalassa.  I REALLY enjoyed those books and I think it was because the female MC’s weren’t so fucking pathetic ~pardon my factual crudeness~.  I loved that the romances weren’t easy, I loved that tensions were high, and I loved that these women were fighting for something.  Unlikely love is a love I completely stand behind and cheer for.  There were undertones of abuse, so bear that in mind if you have triggers.

acaratus_concept_art___prison___by_klauspillon-d7ap9hx.jpg

Books that start with the MC in prison + ends up serving the Guard

Calling all  of you who have read Throne of Glass and Poison Study, you know exactly what kind of vibe I mean.  I just LOVE this setting and I so want to see it explored more.  Some of my top book series are based on the fact that two strong ass female MC’s began as criminals and became something epic.  They had shit handed to them and made everything out of nothing.


Okay, that’s it everyone!  What do you think of my choices?  Are there any that you would like to see or wouldn’t like to see?  If you did this post, send me over your link!

Leave a Reply

