TAG | The Book Love Tag

JEEZ I KEEP GOING MIA AND I DON’T KNOW WHY OR HOW IT JUST HAPPENS. I’M SORRY WORDPRESS FRIENDS.  PS: Don’t think I haven’t been reading, I just really didn’t like what I read and went through this epic slump of slumps.  I hated how every book I read was just “sub par” or so redundant.

Anyways, I decided to get back into it I would do a tag called “The Book Love Tag”.  Sound good? Yep.  Inspired by the lovely Calliope the Book Goddess (check her blog out, here).


YOUR FAVORITE BOOK COUPLE

You guys know that one of the last posts I made was based on me epically fangirling over the beautiful creation that was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.  If you have yet to read it, think of the Shatter Meromance but on drugs.

I’ll leave it at that, and also this snippet from A Court of Thorns and Roses,

tumblr_inline_o65hmsFkWc1u6rra0_540.jpg

YOUR TOP 3 BOOK BOY/GIRLFRIENDS

I honestly am SO EAGER to see what happens between Dorian and Maven in Empire of Storms.  I kind of ship them in such an excellent way.  I also really love Juliette and Aaron from Tahereh Mafi’s Shatter Me series.  Also, Will & Tessa from the Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare.

IMAGINE YOUR FAVORITE BOOK COUPLE. WHO WOULD PROPOSE, AND HOW? (IF THERE’S ALREADY BEEN A PROPOSAL: WHO WOULD BE MORE INTO ORGANIZING THE WEDDING?)

I CAN’T GIVE ANYTHING AWAY (SOBS) (RUNS INTO CORNER).  If you’ve read ACOMAF you know EXACTLY what I am thinking of.

UNPOPULAR OPINIONS TIME! NAME A POPULAR PAIRING YOU CAN’T STAND.

It’s not that I couldn’t stand them at the beginning, because I could.  But I became heartbreakingly disenchanted with Tamlin and Feyre by ACOMAF.  It just wasn’t meant to be and it’s so painfully obvious.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE ROMANCE TROPE?

I really hate non-conducive love triangles.  IF the author has the talent to do one and not fuck it up I am the happiest person alive.  However, most authors really just do it because everyone else does it.  And… I hate that.

My favorite romance trope is one where the male recognizes that the female doesn’t need to be saved and just wants to be her equal.  The male understands that women can be strong and independent and they don’t need excessive hand holding.  The key here is that there’s equality in the relationship, proper character development, and trust.

DO YOU SHIP NON-CANON COUPLES OFTEN? NAME SOME IF YOU DO.

Not typically.  I almost always root for the couple the author pushes.

YOUR OPINION ON LOVE TRIANGLES. GO!

Done right? Look at ACOMAF.  Done wrong? Look pretty much everywhere else.

FAVORITE AND LEAST FAVORITE LOVE TRIANGLE?

My favorite is honestly a jumble between anything seen in Maas’s books or Clare’s TID.  However I really hated the Clary/Jace/Simon fuckery.

SOMETIMES ROMANCE JUST ISN’T THE WAY TO GO. FAVORITE FRIENDSHIP?

I do love the friendship between Kenji and Juliette <—- I JUST TWINNED SO HARD WITH CALLIOPE LOL. Kenji&Juliette are the shit, an EXCELLENT example of a friendship in YA.  Another FANTASTIC one is the relationship between Yelena/Janco/Ari in Maria V. Snyder’s Chronicles of Ixia.  If you haven’t read that chronicle you NEED to.

WHAT’S YOUR FAVORITE SCENE WITH YOUR BOOKISH OTP?

I think this comes with my age, but anything filthy (the sexual kind) in YA.. bridging it to a NA read.  Seriously there are some STEAMY scenes coming out in fantasy books lately and it’s absolutely brilliant.

IMAGINE YOUR FAVORITE BOOK COUPLE AGAIN. WHO’S MOST EXCITED ABOUT VALENTINE’S DAY (EITHER IRONICALLY OR GENUINELY)?

I absolutely agree with Calliope here.. As Feyre and Rhysand are my top couple right now, I really think that Rhysand would be super excited.


Boop boop, okay that’s it for this tag.  I think I might make an update post on everything I’ve been reading?  I don’t really remember much of it because it was so boring, but I’ll see y’all tomorrow. PROMISE.

Seriously, I promise.  PS. I’m going to Comic Con/Book Con in NYC.

13 thoughts on “TAG | The Book Love Tag

  1. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Welcome back Cat! I’ve definitely missed you and your posts while you’ve been MIA ❤️
    I feel from this post I can tell who your ultimate OTP is (Rhys and Feyre!) but I completely agree with you. I kind of shipped Tamlin and Feyre in the first book but by the second, yeah, it just wasn’t meant to be! Sarah J. Maas is amazing when it comes to writing love triangles! 🙂
    Also yes to the friendship between Juliette and Kenji and between Yelena, Ari and Janco! They’re pretty much my ultimate friendship goals! 😀

    Like

    • cat says:

      BETHHHHH oh my god I don’t know what’s wrong with me *sobs in corner again*. I’ve been book slumping so hard. I kept reading all these books that was so subpar it was horrible. D:

      And current OTP is DEFS Rhys and Feyre, but holy shit the whole Tamlin thing broke my heart quite a bit. x______x.

      PS I read this interview with Snyder and she said that she envisioned Yelena being played by Summer Glau and Valek as Tom Hiddleston. I CAN KIND OF SEE IT, can you?! She mentioned Ari and Janco too but I can’t remember who she said.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Ohh, I do know that feeling, I went through a bit of a mini slump in May, and before I started blogging I was in a reading slump for like months. It’s horrible. You need to try reading some books you know you’re going to love, even if they’re re-reads! 😀
        Oh same here, I was definitely a Tamlin/Feyre shipper in the first book but what he did in the second I couldn’t forgive, and by halfway through ACOMAF I was definitely shipping Feyre and Rhys! 😀
        I can definitely see Summer Glau playing Yelena!!! Not too sure about Tom Hiddleston as Valek though, I may have to re-read the series and see if it fits! 😀

        Like

      • cat says:

        I defs had to stare at his pictures for a few minutes but i def see Tom Hiddleston as Valek (like totally). It’s always my fav when authors put names to the character. And I DO need to read some good books any recommendations?? We have a similar taste.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Any excuse to stare at pictures of Tom Hiddleston for a bit right? 😀
        Ehh, give me a little while and I’ll probably only ever be able to see Tom Hiddleston as Valek! 🙂
        OK, well I would recommend anything by V.E. Schwab because at the moment she is my favourite author. If you haven’t started/finished it yet I would also suggest The Lunar Chronicles and I just finished Wolf by Wolf which was amazing. Other favourite series of mine are – and I’m not sure if you’ve already read some of these, it’s possible you have – Splintered, Daughter of Smoke and Bone, Angelfall, Percy Jackson, The Raven Cycle and The Bone Season.
        Hopefully there’ll be something there you enjoy! 😀

        Like

      • cat says:

        I KEEP seeing V. E. Schwab, oh man I might need to jump on the bandwagon. I just realized I promised someone I’d do a Harry Potter reading marathon in July to celebrate The Cursed Child coming out later that month. DID YOU PREORDER? I’m so freaking excited.

        Also, the Percy Jackson train keeps zooming past. I read the first book but never kept on with it, I feel like this was a huge mistake >;o

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        Oh you definitely need to jump on the V.E. Schwab bandwagon, she’s such an amazing author and I think you’d really love her books as well!
        Yes I have pre-ordered, I am so so excited for that book to be released. The re-read sounds like a great idea as well, I may have to do something like that myself when I get my copy of the Cursed Child.
        I went though all the books in like a week, it’s such a brilliant series so yes you should definitely carry on with the series! 😀

        Like

      • cat says:

        IN A WEEK? Holy shit, woman! I just started the Sorcerer’s Stone and it’s honestly like I’m reading it for the first time again. I read these books when I was so young then just sticked to the movies for a recap. Such silly mistakes. D:

        Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        If I enjoy a book I will marathon read everything that author has released, and it was that way with the PJ books!
        Oh it’s the same whenever I pick up the HP books as well, I still love the movies don’t get me wrong but the books just can’t be beat! 😀

        Like

Leave a Reply

