Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

25817407

The Siren by Kiera Cass

Pages: 327
Published:
January 26th 2016
Publisher: HarperTeen
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy / Romance
Goodreads Rating: 3.87/5
My rating: 3/5

Synopsis:

A girl with a secret.
The boy of her dreams.
An Ocean between them.

Years ago, Kahlen was rescued from drowning by the Ocean. To repay her debt, she has served as a Siren ever since, using her voice to lure countless strangers to their deaths. Though a single word from Kahlen can kill, she can’t resist spending her days on land, watching ordinary people and longing for the day when she will be able to speak and laugh and live freely among them again.

Kahlen is resigned to finishing her sentence in solitude…until she meets Akinli. Handsome, caring, and kind, Akinli is everything Kahlen ever dreamed of.

Falling in love with a human breaks the Ocean’s rules. But for the first time in a lifetime of following the rules, Kahlen is determined to follow her heart.

Guys I heard so much about this novel since release, who hasn’t?  Kiera Cass, famously infamous for her Selection series has written another novel… And this time it’s about Sirens.  Quite honestly?  I don’t see the appeal with Sirens.  No novel I have ever read with them has really “wowed” me, and this one didn’t either.

The characters were boring.  Kahlen is probably the most boring MC I’ve read in a while.  She didn’t have some great personality, no personal mission or goal, nada.  Her actual goal in life was to get married. That’s it.  The supporting characters were also pretty monotonous, I don’t feel like Cass fully explored these characters enough to garner attention.

There was a weird religious undertone that I did NOT like. The Ocean is pretty much a divine being in this book, a personification (oceanification??) of God.  She is the mother, She is the one to please, She needs the sacrifices to save more lives, She knows everything, She loves everyone.  Do you see my point?  Have you ever seen the TV series The Unbreakable Kimmie Schmidt?  It starts out with Kimmie and a couple other ladies being held in this underground bunker by some creepy ass guy for YEARS.  The Ocean was basically the equivalent of the man, and she has each of the Sirens held under a sort of “contract” to serve Her for 100 years.  It was kind of disgusting and weird.  And to be quite frank, I don’t mind a little religion in any of the novels I read, but this was a bit nauseating as it was a constant theme.

The romance was pretty insta love-y.  Akinli (seriously, what is it with these weird names) was a really sweet love interest.  He reminded me a lot of John Ambrose McClaren from Jenny Han’s PS. I Still Love You.  Such a sweet and cute man who really did woo Kahlen.  Akinli was 10 times more interesting then Kahlen and we see him in like two chapters of the entire novel.

I’m not too sure about this book.  It was fast and easy to read, good for getting out of reading slumps.  But it definitely wasn’t the best book of 2016, nor would it get on the top ten list.  If you’re looking for something simple, this is it.  I would say read it to get it off your TBR, but don’t expect too much.  I loved the cover though, it’s the only reason I actually reached for the book.  #A+marketing

4 thoughts on “Review: The Siren by Kiera Cass

  1. AdoptaBookAUS says:

    I’ve been thinking of reading this but have been putting it off as I’m not sure how I feel about Sirens. I’ll take this off my immediate TBR and put on my when I remember it exists list. I don’t really like religious undertones or MC’s that have no goals asides from attaining a man so there’s not much in this that really pulls me in asides from the fact you mentioned a characters that’s like John Ambrose!
    Fantastic review 🙂

    Like

    • cat says:

      Yeah honestly sirens have done nothing for me. I’d prefer mermaids or some other supernatural creature n_n. And the religious undertones were 100% a completely thing. Like I said, I don’t usually mind it but it was all over in this novel. MEH.

      And Akinli is a total JAM, making it *kinda* worth it to read the chapters with him in it. so sweet. n_n.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. transhaan says:

    You had me at Oceanification LOL I wasn’t sure about this book either but thank you for sharing your thoughts I know now that maybe the romance in this book is not for me haha 😀

    Like

    • cat says:

      Yeah I was like “ya totally personification” then I was like “wait no it’s an ocean. Damnit, what’s this word?!?”. STRUGGLING FOR REAL. Honestly this book really wasn’t a romance builder. It was more like:

      *swoon* “this boy treats me like a person” *swoon swoon swoon* “I MUST LEAVE!!!!!”

      38245896 chapters after: “oh I love him so much I am now depressed *sad swoon*

      near the end: “oh no ___ has happened oh I am ill *ill swooning* I must convince Her to let me be with him *sad swoon*

      end: we are reunited *swoooooooon* true loveeeeee.

      Like

Leave a Reply

