Top Ten Tuesday: Characters Everyone Loves but I Can’t Get Into

 

Wuddup guys?  It’s time for Top Ten Tuesday, and this week seems like it’s an unpopular opinion type of post.

My favorite *evil laugh*


 

2339919210. René Hasard from Rook by Sharon Cameron

Probably one of the most annoying “love interests”.  His speech and actions made me cringe.  Everyone seems to have loved him and I just can’t.

 


8475505-1

 9. Harper Price from Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

The. Most. Annoying. MC. Ever. Oh my god. I HATED this MC with a passion.  A freaking Mary Sue if I’ve ever seen one.  The bickering and sass and overall attitude was way too much for me.


20821111

8. Adelina Amouteru from The Young Elites by Marie Lu

I made a post on this character a few days ago but by the Angel, Adelina was so evil I disliked her.  Everyone loves how dark she is and I just can’t jump on this train.


9284655

7. Ren from Tiger’s Curse by Colleen Houck

Dude was just annoying.  He had temper tantrums like a 5 year old and that was somehow supposed to make us love him? Nah dude.  He needed to grow the fuck up.


 

6080889

6. Devlen Sandseed from Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder

Probably the most fucked up love interest in YA history.  Devlen was a blood addicted, black magic obsessed, rapist, abuser, torturer, kidnapper to the female MC, Opal.

Spoiler: they FREAKING GET MARRIED


6442769

5. Margo Roth Spiegelman from Paper Towns by John Green

Margo, oh Margo.  A train of crazy that nobody should ever want to go near.  I really dislike how John Green’s female MC’s are always these deep, soul-finding characters who speak in riddles and have the vocabulary of a PHD candidate. #stop #they’reinhighschool


15749186

4. Peter from To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Lara Jean by herself was a childish character, but I just didn’t understand the appeal with Peter. It was a pure high school romance that in no way would have lasted.

 


2767052

3. Peeta Mallark from The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The biggest fan train I could never board.  Peeta was the weirdest love interest / support character.  I couldn’t stand his personality and the fact that Katniss ends up with him.


16034235

2. Manon Blackbeak from the Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

My love for SJM runs deep.  It’s true, it’s likely everlasting, you all know this.  But what you may not have known is that I deplore Manon. I deplore her chapters, I deplore her POV, I deplore her character.  I usually skip her chapters because I can’t stand her.


256683

1. Simon Lewis from The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

BA DUM DUM CH. My top character that I really don’t like.  I despised Simon in books 1 and 2.  He finally grew on me when him and Izzy became a thing, but while he was obsessed with Clary I just couldn’t.  Oh my god, his puppy dog love was the worst.  I hate that angsty “love” and “poor me” attitude.


 

There you have it everyone!  My list of characters I really didn’t like.  I feel like there’s a target on my back because of some of my choices. :P.  I look forward to reading all your guys’ lists!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters Everyone Loves but I Can’t Get Into

  1. Weezled says:

    YES YES YES on Devlan! I hate him SO MUCH. I loved Poison Study and was really into the series. Then that happened. Love your abusers, guys. That’s the moral of this story.

    Like

  2. Kirstie Ellen says:

    Omg can’t believe you didn’t like Ren!! Ah well, can’t have it all. Totally see where you’re coming from with Manon but I have to say I’ve been won over since Queen of Shadows and I’m tolerating her much better now haha

    Like

Leave a comment