Valentine’s Week: The Classics Book Tag!

I was tagged by Chloe to do this tag!  It was originally created by It’s a Book World.  During my freshman year of college I took a freshman seminar on children’s literature, which exposed me to a lot of classics I had never read before.  We read a lot of Grimm’s fairytales, Carroll, Plath (why Plath? I still don’t know), Twain, you name it.

Classics really aren’t my go-to, but when I hear the word “classics”, I automatically think of how much they are loved by millions of people throughout the world.

So let’s get started! 🙂

  1. An over-hyped classic you didn’t really like.
    24583.jpg
    The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain.  Ugh.  This book was verging on painful for me.  I hated the racism and I hated the slang.  A mandatory but really uncomfortable read.
  2. Favourite time period to read about.
    I’ve always had a fascination with Victorian-era books.  I love the feeling of it, the language, the style.  I think it’s really romantic.
  3. Favourite Fairy Tale.
    46306.jpg
    The original depiction of The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Andersen.  It’s morbid, violent, and heartbreaking.  The Disney version does it no justice, it doesn’t even come close to the original fairy tale.

“But think again,” said the witch; “for when once your shape has become like a human being, you can no more be a mermaid. You will never return through the water to your sisters, or to your father’s palace again; and if you do not win the love of the prince, so that he is willing to forget his father and mother for your sake, and to love you with his whole soul, and allow the priest to join your hands that you may be man and wife, then you will never have an immortal soul. The first morning after he marries another your heart will break, and you will become foam on the crest of the waves.”

“I will do it,” said the little mermaid, and she became pale as death.

4. What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read?

Pride & Prejudice.  I loved the movie adaptation, and I’m positive I’d love to read it.

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read soon.
– 
Pride & Prejudice
– Wuthering Heights
– A Tale of Two Cities
– To Kill a Mockingbird
– The Odyssey

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic.
I actually didn’t know any so I Googled it, you can read more about it here

7. Favourite movie/tv show based on a classic.
Pride & Prejudice, totally.  Although I didn’t like the actor who portrayed Darcy. #sorrynotsorry

8. Worst classic adaptation.
I didn’t watch the full thing, but Anna Karenina was pretty weird.

9. Favourite edition you would like to collect (more) classics from.
I actually own some beautiful vintage editions of some classics so I’m pretty happy.  They’re leather-bound with gold gilding.

I tag:
Lu @ Making Days Better

Reg @ She Latitude

Jesse @ Books at Dawn

Alyssa @ Alyssa is Reading

Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

 

2 thoughts on “Valentine’s Week: The Classics Book Tag!

Leave a Reply

