Top Ten Tuesday: Ultimate Couples Moments in YA Lit

What’s up guys? We are officially one day closer to Valentine’s DayTop Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.  Each Tuesday there is a new theme, this week was kind of a freebie for anything romance-y, so I will be talking about my top ten favorite/ultimate couples moments in YA books.  These are moments where I really said “Damn. This is real”.

Just as a note, some couples are getting a really long excerpt from the book.  I cut a lot of it down so you get the gist.  But context is so necessary sometimes as it can make certain quotes 100x more swoon-worthy.

NOTE: This can be seen as spoiler-y, so don’t read if you don’t want to know.  I have the book title beside the couples to help out. 🙂


10. Ash & Natalie (Black City by Elizabeth Richards)

This is a paranormal dystopia (yes) with civil rights issues throughout.  The romance in Black City is a little insta-lovey but this book stuck with me because they were different races (species? I don’t know).  Civil rights! Darklings! Need I say more?

“I’m sorry,” he finally says.

“If that’s all you’ve got to say, I’ll go.”

He’s by my side in a flash. It hurts having him so close to me; he’s so perfect, his scent so intoxicating. Bonfires, musk and rain. The scent of home. My eyes shimmer with fresh tears, and I angrily wipe them away.

He tilts my face up to look into his.

“I’m so sorry I hurt you, Natalie. I made a mistake, a really stupid, terrible mistake, and I don’t expect you to ever forgive me. I don’t deserve your forgiveness.”

“Then why did you bring me here?”

“I just wanted to tell you something.”

“What?” I whisper.

He runs a light finger over my lips, leaving a tingling trail across my skin.

“I love you,” he says. “I love the way you bite your bottom lip when you’re nervous. I love the annoying way you rattle mints against your teeth when you eat them. I love how brave you are.  Those are the reasons I love you, Natalie, not because you have a Darkling heart.”

9. Crispin & Cat (Halfway to the Grave by Jeaniene Frost)

Note of warning: Crispin (Bones) has the language of a sailor.  This book is very… explicit.. in some parts so be warned my children, be warned.

“You! You tricked me! I never want to see you or that bottle of liquid arsenic again!”

I chucked the empty moonshine jug at him. Or tried to. It missed him by a dozen feet.

He picked it up in astonishment. “You drank the whole bloody thing? You were only supposed to have a few sips!”

“Did you say that? Did you?” He reached me just as I felt the ground tip. “Didn’t say anything. I’ve got those names, so that’s all that matters, but you men…you’re all alike. Alive, dead, undead—all perverts! I had a drunken pervert in my pants! Do you know how unsanitary that is?”

Bones held me upright. I would have protested, but I couldn’t remember how to. “What are you saying?”

“Winston poltergeisted my panties, that’s what!” I announced with a loud hiccup.

“Why, you scurvy, lecherous spook!” Bones yelled in the direction of the cemetery. “If my pipes still worked, I’d go right back there and piss on your grave!”

8. Will & Tessa (The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare)

I really don’t have to explain this.  Here are some of my favorite quotes.

“I had such plans for this evening. The pursuit of blind drunkenness and wayward women was my goal. But alas, it was not to be. No sooner had I consumed my third drink in the Devil than I was accosted by a delightful small flower selling child who asked me for twopence for a daisy. The price seemed steep, so I refused. When I told the girl as much, she proceeded to rob me.”

“A little girl robbed you?” Tessa said.

“Actually, she wasn’t a little girl at all, as it turns out, but a midget in a dress with a penchant for violence, who goes by the name of Six-Fingered Nigel.”


She looked up at him with a smile. The smile broke what was left of his resistance – shattered it. He had let the walls down when he’d thought she was gone, and there was no time to build them back up. Helplessly he pulled her against him. For a moment she clung to him tightly, warm and alive in his arms. Her hair brushed his cheek. The color had come back into the world; he could breathe again, and for that moment he breathed her in – she smelled of salt, blood, tears, and Tessa.

7. Andre & Gabrielle (The Damned by Laura Thalassa)

There is something so freaking sweet about Andre.  This scene literally was the sweetest thing ever.  To preface, they’re both vampires.  Gabrielle was kidnapped and drained of her blood, fed, and drained again for hours.  Andre brought her back to life after finding her completely bled out and shattered.

“Oh my God. Oh my God. Get it off me.”

He glanced down at his soulmate to see her clawing at the bloody robe she wore, horror plastered across her face. [ . . . ] On any other occasion, Gabrielle would be terrified to expose herself in such a place, especially when she didn’t have clothes to change into.  But he couldn’t bear to see her traumatized, and she couldn’t bear to wear the clothes her tormentors must’ve given her.

Gabrielle was already ripping the fabric, uncaring that she was exposing herself as she did so.  Andre shrugged off his jacket and wrapped it around her shoulders.  He grabbed her bloodstained hands and clasped them in his own.  She yanked against his hold, but he wouldn’t let them go.

“Andre-” she sobbed out.

“Look at me,” he commanded. “Look at me.”

Reluctantly she did so.

“Let me do this, love.”

She frowned, her lower lip trembling- her entire body trembling.  And damn if the sight didn’t break something in him.  He would tear out her enemies’ hearts and dance upon their ashes for this.

[. . .]

Once he’d ripped the dress off, he removed his shirt and used it to wipe off the blood that stained her skin.  He couldn’t get it all off, but he did the best he could, even toweling off her hair.

“Thank you,” she whispered.

He paused, then grabbed her chin. “Never thank me for something like this.”

Before she could respond, he kissed her.  She latched onto him, falling into the kiss like it was the only thing tethering her to the earth.  He clutched her close, breaking off the kiss to whisper. “I will always come for you. I will always follow you, and I will always, always try to save you”.

6. King Montes & Serenity (The Queen of All That Dies by Laura Thalassa)

This book is essentially two enemies falling in love.  I really loved this slow building romance.

The day of the wedding I sleep in.  People have been knocking on my door for the last two hours, and up until now I’ve done a pretty good job of ignoring them.  But the pounding on my door right now is louder and more insistent than the others.

When I don’t answer, the pounding stops.  I smile into my pillow until I hear the click of my lock being thrown back.  The door opens and footsteps cross the room.

My bed dips as someone sits down on it, and then I feel the feathery touch of fingertips on the bare skin of my shoulder. “You need to get up now.”

My eyes snap open at that voice. “I thought you were ignoring me?” I say to King Montes.

“When it comes to you, that’s impossible.”

I bury my face in my pillow. “I want to sleep in.”

“We’re getting married in two hours”

“Don’t care,” I say, my voice muffled.

“Fine. We’ll sip the wedding part and go straight to the honeymoon.” He pulls back the covers and begins to slide in next to me.  I yelp and jump out of bed.

“Just so you know, you’re not frightening at all in the morning,” he says, smirking.  “You look like a pissed off kitten.”

“Say that again, and I’ll castrate you with a butter knife.”

His lips quirk. “Ah, lucky me to have such a blushing bride.”


It should never have been this way. My comrades turning on me, my enemies saving me. But worst of all, I should never have felt anything other than hatred for this man, the king, Definitely not this, this warmth that thaws my soul.

I stare into the king’s eyes. I am Isolde, I am Juliet, I am Guinevere.
I am every one of those idiots because I’ve fallen for the king.

5. Feyre & Tamlin (A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

This book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast and was done so damn well.  Instead of being saved, Feyre goes through hell and back to try and save Tamlin.  This is just one of my favorite moments in the book.  PS: Lucien!

“Would you like me to grovel with gratitude for bringing me here, High Lord?”

“Ah. The Suriel told you nothing important, did it?”

That smile of his sparked something bold in my chest. “He also said that you liked being brushed, and if I’m a clever girl, I might train you with treats.”

Tamlin tipped his head to the sky and roared with laughter. Despite myself, I let out a quiet laugh.

“I might die of surprise,” Lucien said behind me. “You made a joke, Feyre.”

4. Ivy & Bishop (The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel)

This is another building romance.  It’s kind of similar to The Queen of All That Dies, so if you’re looking for enemies falling in love.  This is a tamer version of that one.  Ivy sacrifices so much by the end I just can’t.  The love is so damn perfect.

It’s raining in earnest when I leave my father’s house, but I refuse the umbrella Callie holds out to me, along with her offer to walk me home.  [. . .] I have no idea what time it is, but the sun has set and there is no one out on the rain-slick streets.  My sneakers are soaked by the time I turn up the walk to our house, water running in rivulets from my hair and down my back.

I don’t see Bishop until I’m almost to the porch. He is sitting on the front steps in the dark, the roof overhang protecting him from the rain. His face is solemn. I stop mid-step and watch as he stands, a towel clutched in his hands. One second I’m standing still and the next I’m running toward him and I don’t know when my legs decided to move. I fly up the three shallow steps and wrap my arms around his neck. He is strong and warm and after only a second’s hesitation, he clutches me against him. I am sobbing; all the tears I’ve wanted to cry for what feels like years are flooding out of me, mixing with rainwater on his neck.

He holds me and lets me cry. He doesn’t try to talk me out of my sorrow, like my father did, or tell me to snap out of it, as Callie tried to, always impatient in the face of emotion. Bishop simply stands with his arms firm across my back, his breaths steady against my temple.

3. Adam & Charli (Saving Wishes by G. J. Walker-Smith)

Alas, a contemporary YA series that I completely fell in love with.  Adam, a French-American escapes to Tasmania.  Charli, born and raised in Tasmania, just wants to escape the small town life.  Their story is one of my all time favorites.

“Why won’t you look at me?” he whispered, pinching my chin between his finger and thumb, forcing me to meet his gaze.

“Because it’s all a bit silly, isn’t it?” I mumbled.

“I wish you could see yourself through my eyes.  You’d never have another moment of self-doubt as long as you live.”

“Everybody should believe in conte de fée,” I whispered.

Adam stared at me as if I’d just insulted him.  Finally, he raised his eyebrows and smile. “Charlotte, how can you maintain that you don’t speak French when you throw words like conte de fée into casual conversation?”

“Fairy tales,” I said shrugging my shoulders.

“I know what it means.  I’m just surprised that you do.”

“I know all the important French words.”

“And what are they?” he quizzed.

I ticked them off on my fingers. “Bonjour, conte de fée and croissant.”

His laugh echoed through the tent and I couldn’t help laughing with him.

3. Aelin & Rowan (Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas)

Guys, going over my quotes I am DYING LAUGHING.  Holy shit there’s too many, so here’s one for now.  I might add some more later because QOS had some brilliant Raelin moments.

“What in hell is that?”

She kept going toward the bathroom, refusing to apologize or look down at the pink, delicate, very short lace nightgown. When she emerged, face washed and clean.

Rowan was sitting up, arms crossed over his bare chest. “You forgot the bottom part.”

She merely blew out the candles in the room one by one. His eyes tracked her the entire time.

“There is no bottom part,” she said, flinging back the covers on her side. “It’s starting to get so hot, and I hate sweating when I sleep. Plus, you’re practically a furnace. So it’s either this or I sleep naked. You can sleep in the bathtub if you have a problem with it.”

2. Yelena & Valek (Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder)

GUYS!!! If you have not read this series you NEED to read it!  Yelena and Valek are the ultimate OTP

“He hasn’t been corrupted by power or greed.  He’s consistent and loyal to his people. And there’s been no one in this world that I care for more. Until now.”

I held my breath.  It had been a simple, innocent question.  I hadn’t expected such an intimate response.

“Yelena, you’ve driven me crazy.  You’ve caused me considerable trouble and I’ve contemplated ending your life twice since I’ve known you.” Valley’s warm breath in my ear sent a shiver down my spine

“But you’ve slipped under my skin, invaded my blood and seized my heart.”

“That sounds more like a poison than a person,” was all I could say.  His confession had both shocked and thrilled me.

“Exactly,” Valek replied. “You have poisoned me.” He rolled me over to face him. Before I could make another sound, he kissed me.

1. Celaena & Sam (The Assassin’s Blade -> Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas)

This is my heart breaking guys.  This romance to me was the top of everything.  I think it hits home so much more because Sam is dead.

“Sam smiled, his brown eyes turning golden in the dawn. It was such a Sam look, the twinkle of mischief, the hint of exasperation, the kindness that would always, always make him a better person than she was.

Before she knew what she was doing, Celaena threw her arms around him and held him close. Sam stiffened, but after a heartbeat, his arms came around her. She breathed him in—the smell of his sweat, the tang of the dust and rock, the metallic odor of his blood… Sam rested his cheek on her head. She couldn’t remember —honestly couldn’t recall—the last time anyone had held her. But embracing Sam was different, somehow. Like she wanted to curl into his warmth, like for one moment, she didn’t have to worry about anything or anybody.

“Sam,” she murmured into his chest.

“Hmm?”

She peeled away from him, stepping out of his arms. “If you ever tell anyone about me embracing you… I’ll gut you.”


 

“I love you,” he repeated, shaking her again. “I have for years. But if I asked you to pick, you’d choose Arobynn, and I. Can’t. Take. It.”

“You’re a damned idiot,” she breathed grabbing the front of his tunic.  “You’re a moron and an ass and a damned idiot.”

He looked like she had hit him.

But she went on, and grasped both sides of his face. “Because I’d pick you.”


“I miss you,” she said.

“Every day, I miss you. And I wonder what you would have made of all this. Made of me. I think – I think you would have been a wonderful king. I think they would have liked you more than me, actually.” Her throat tightened.

“I never told you – how I felt. But I loved you, and I think a part of me might always love you. Maybe you were my mate, and I never knew it. Maybe I’ll spend the rest of my life wondering about that. Maybe I’ll see you again in the Afterworld, and then I’ll know for sure. But until then … until then I’ll miss you, and I’ll wish you were here.”

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ultimate Couples Moments in YA Lit

Leave a Reply

