Review: The Unearthly Series by Laura Thalassa

The Unearthly Series by Laura Thalassa

Consisting of:
The Unearthly (book one)
The Coveted (book two)
The Cursed (book three)
The Forsaken (book four)
The Damned (book five)

Publisher: Lavabrook Publishing Group
Publishing Years: 2012-2015

Synopsis of The Unearthly (#1):

The first time I was declared dead, I lost my past. The second time, I lost my humanity. Now I’m being hunted, and if I die again, my soul is up for forfeit.

After enrolling in Peel Academy, an elite supernatural boarding school on the British Isles, the last of the sirens, Gabrielle Fiori, only wants to fit in. Instead, the elixir meant to awaken her supernatural abilities kills her.

When Gabrielle wakes up in the morgue twelve hours later, something wicked is awakened in her, something even the supernatural community has never seen before. Now the only person who can help her is Andre de Leon, the community’s infamous bad boy and the king of vampires.

Yet even his help can’t prevent the repeated attempts on Gabrielle’s life. Someone is after her, and they will stop at nothing to end her short existence. Only Gabrielle cannot let that happen now that her soul hangs in the balance, because she may have met the devil. And he wants   mher. Bad.

My love for Laura Thalassa is strong and unyielding.  After reading (and loving!) her The Queen of All That Dies series I just had to take the plunge into her other books.  And honestly guys? I am so freaking glad I did!

Lets be honest, the synopsis is kind of eye-rolling.  It just sounds like every one of those other really tacky paranormal-boarding school kind of books.  And to be frank, it kind of is in the first book.  It’s a trope village.  BUT!  I swear to you it gets SO. FREAKING. GOOD.  By The Damned (Unearthly #5) it was explosive, stunning, dark, twisted, and epic.

The series is essentially about a girl, Gabrielle Fiori, who gets into this prestigious supernatural school and finds out she’s this weird being (siren / vampire) that’s never been seen before in the supernatural realm.  Throughout each book she’s fighting to understand her role in the supernatural world, her ties to her soulmate, and the devil.

The devil wants Gabrielle for himself. Such an interesting twist.  The devil has followed Gabrielle around since before she was born.  You see, Gabrielle was promised to the devil by the Fates (at least that’s my understanding).  Gabrielle was made for the devil.  However, somewhere along the way she was also promised to another – Andre de Leon.  This series illustrates the battle of wills, power struggles, deception, and love.

The love was hard to warm up to at first, but its bordering epic by the end.  It was honestly pretty insta-lovey in the first book.  Although A LOT of things happen between Gabrielle and Andre, you do witness her being her own person.  One thing I love is that Thalassa makes her female MC’s independent and strong-willed, and it’s AWESOME. I like that they aren’t some swoony little shits, and Gabrielle isn’t any different.

He took my hands in his. “Now, this is what’s going to happen: You are going to stop running from me and stop protecting me.  You’re going to yell at me when I infuriate you and I’m going to rage.  And then we’re going to make up and continue on because that’s what soulmates do.  We’re going to fight this out together. And so long as you love me, you are going to greedily – selfishly – accept my love.  Even if that means putting me in the devil’s line of fire.”

Character development is only really seen in Gabrielle.  This is something I’m (slightly) okay with because it works by the end.  What you have to remember is that Andre is old as f* (700 years old+), he’s done his growing up so we shouldn’t really see that much in the books.  On the other hand, Gabrielle is ~16 in the beginning and she grows up A LOT throughout the series.  Honestly?  Gabrielle deals with SO MUCH SHIT.  Like I would to think that I’ve read a fair amount of YA books and Gabrielle is constantly dealing with an outrageous amount of shit.  She literally is kidnapped, abused, murdered, reincarnated, shamed, beaten, stabbed, shot (like 2183964936 times), dragged to hell, dragged back to hell, dragged to earth, revived, the list goes ON AND ON.  Gabrielle literally has the hardest life out of most MC’s I’ve ever seen.

I will never give up on you, my sun,” he whispered to her in Romanian. “I will pull you from the dark, just as you have me”.

Thus, the finale.  The Damned has to be one of the best written books I’ve ever read.  The finale of this series is one of the most epic series-enders I’ve EVER read.  It was a rollercoaster of every feel in the world.  I LOVED how Thalassa played out Gabrielle’s fate.  I love how she played out everything.  It was so well done!  The last book is incredibly dark and twisty and it’s fucking fantastic guys.

You see incredible development in Thalassa’s writing throughout the series.  Compared to the first book, the last one completely blows it out of the water.  It’s absolutely perfect.  I’m such a fan, guys.  You have to keep on the series to see what I’m saying.  It’s a fun read at the beginning, don’t take it seriously until later on and you will see why I love it.

I’m so perfectly in love with Andre and Gabrielle by the end, guys.  The love between them is so god damn real the trials they face never diminish it.  Real OTP right here.  The quotes I’ve brought in do no justice until you see the context in which they were said because I’m swoooooooooning forever.

Before she could respond, he kissed her.  She latched onto him, falling into the kiss like it was the only thing tethering her to the earth.  He clutched her close, breaking off the kiss to whisper. “I will always come for you.  I will always follow you, and I will always, always try to save you”.

3 thoughts on “Review: The Unearthly Series by Laura Thalassa

Leave a Reply

