Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

13138635.jpg

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman
and Meagan Spooner

Pages: 378
Publisher: Disney Hyperion
Published: December 10th 2013

Synopsis:

Luxury spaceliner Icarus suddenly plummets from hyperspace into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive – alone. Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a cynical war hero. Both journey across the eerie deserted terrain for help. Everything changes when they uncover the truth. 

The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

What an interesting read!  I haven’t read too many space-travel books so this was definitely taking a step out of my comfort zone.  I’m usually really hesitant to read books below a 4.00 rating on Goodreads, and this one had a 3.95 so I thought I’d take the plunge.

This book mainly focused on the survival of two main characters – Lilac and Tarver – after they crashed on an isolated planet with no other human life.  Each chapter would swap point of views which I really enjoyed.  The authors did an excellent job at making these two characters distinguishable.

The plot obviously had a lot of thought put into it.  Near the end it got really tech-y and kind of flew over my head but it ended up making sense.  It was really interesting to see the two characters develop and become friends.  You get to feel their struggles, worries, fears, and accomplishments.

I’m kind of disappointed that the next two books aren’t a continuation of their story, so I’m not too sure if I will continue reading the series.

I think a 3.95/5 is a pretty accurate rating.

3 thoughts on “Review: These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    I’ve seen this book cover around a lot, but this is actually the first time I’m reading the synopsis, haha. Shame on me. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one sometimes being hesitant to read a book below 4.00 on Goodreads. I feel kind of bad for it, but I’m glad to hear I’m not alone now, haha! 🙂
    This book sounds really interesting, kind of outside of my comfort zone, too, but maybe I’ll give it a try! Great review 🙂

    Like

  2. Lois says:

    I would definitely continue the series as you get more of an explanation to the Whispers and the LaRoux Industries. Plus while Lilac and Tarver (my OTP) aren’t the main protagonists of the next two book they still have a role to play. In fact one of the things I love most about this series is how crafty Meagan and Amie were with the plot and the way all these characters come together is quite amazing. I’m glad you enjoyed the book and I hope you decide to give the rest of the series a chance. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

