Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recently Added to My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish.  Each Tuesday there is a new theme, this weeks is “Top Ten Books I’ve Recently Added To My TBR”

  1. The Queen of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

18712886.jpg

The synopsis just sounds like something I would love.  All the books I’ve read involving monarchy of some sort have yet to disappoint me.  I think this is definitely a new trope in YA that is going to keep coming up. Here’s just a snippet of the blurb:

An untested young princess must claim her throne, learn to become a queen, and combat a malevolent sorceress in an epic battle between light and darkness in this spectacular debut—the first novel in a trilogy.

Here’s the Goodreads link.

9. The Shadow Queen by C. J. Redwine

23299513.jpg

See what I mean? Another monarchy-esque storyline.  The cover alone makes me think of snow white, and I’m pretty sure this is a retelling.  So we’ll see how it goes. Here’s a quick blurb:

Lorelai Diederich, crown princess and fugitive at large, has one mission: kill the wicked queen who took both the Ravenspire throne and the life of her father. To do that, Lorelai needs to use the one weapon she and Queen Irina have in common—magic. She’ll have to be stronger, faster, and more powerful than Irina, the most dangerous sorceress Ravenspire has ever seen.

Here’s the Goodreads

8. Firstlife by Gena Showalter

25785357.jpg

I actually saw this in a Goodreads post yesterday, the cover is so pretty right?  What I found really interesting about this book was that it involves the afterlife.  I haven’t really seen many YA with this so hopefully it’s good!

Tenley “Ten” Lockwood is an average seventeen-year-old girl…who has spent the past thirteen months locked inside the Prynne Asylum. The reason? Not her obsession with numbers, but her refusal to let her parents choose where she’ll live—after she dies.

Here’s the Goodreads

7. The Radiant Road by Katharine Catmull

25431173.jpg

EEEE! A BOOK SET IN IRELAND. Guys. This is literally the only reason why I’m reading this book.  Also it has a beautiful cover.  I’m sorry my reasons aren’t more eloquent or thoughtful, it is what it is.

After years of living in America, Clare Macleod and her father are returning to Ireland, where they’ll inhabit the house Clare was born in—a house built into a green hillside with a tree for a wall. For Clare, the house is not only full of memories of her mother, but also of a mysterious boy with raven-dark hair and dreamlike nights filled with stars and magic. Clare soon discovers that the boy is as real as the fairy-making magic, and that they’re both in great danger from an ancient foe.

Goodreads

6. Chase the Dark by Annette Marie

23200514.jpg

Goodreads has been recommending this book to me for what seems like a year now.  The only reason I ignored it was because I didn’t like the cover (yes, I know..).  However, I heard someone saying it was a really good book so I’m officially taking the plunge!  It kind of reminds me of Jennifer Armentrout’s book, you know like Apollyon and all that? Yeah.

Piper Griffiths wants one thing in life: To become a Consul, a keeper of the peace between humans and daemons. There are precisely three obstacles in her way.

The first is Lyre. Incubus. Hotter than hell and with a wicked streak to match. His greatest mission in life is to get Piper into bed and otherwise annoy the crap out of her. The second is Ash. Draconian. Powerful. Dangerous. He knows too much and reveals nothing. Also, disturbingly attractive — and scary. Did she mention scary?

The third is the Sahar Stone. Top secret magical weapon of mass destruction. Previously hidden in her Consulate until thieves broke in, went on a murder spree, and disappeared with the weapon.

And they left Piper to take the fall for their crimes.

Goodreads

5. Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost

7039218.jpg

It’s based off the same world as her Night Huntress series and I kind of want to read it.  I saw this series recommended on Goodreads and I really liked it! Also say hello to that 8 pack.  NOTE: If you aren’t into really (I mean REALLY) sexual themes, probably don’t read this series.  I didn’t know that when I started to read this series and when it happened my jaw dropped for a good 10 minutes.

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person’s darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude…until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world’s most infamous vampire.

Goodreads

4. First Drop of Crimson by Jeaniene Frost

6547187.jpg

Ah another book from the Night Huntress series.  I just wanted to know the back story of this new couple.  NOTE: If you aren’t into really (I mean REALLY) sexual themes, probably don’t read this series.  I didn’t know that when I started to read this series and when it happened my jaw dropped for a good 10 minutes.

Denise MacGregor knows all too well what lurks in the shadows – her best friend is half-vampire Cat Crawfield – and she has already lost more than the average human could bear. But her family’s dark past is wrapped in secrets and shrouded in darkness – and a demon shapeshifter has marked Denise as prey. Now her survival depends on an immortal who craves a taste of her.

Goodreads

3. Sword and Verse by Kathy MacMillan

22065067.jpg

Yaaaaas this sounds so good!  It features an MC who is sold as a slave and has that secret that nobody can know.  It sounds so interesting!

Raisa was just a child when she was sold to work as a slave in the kingdom of Qilara. Despite her young age, her father was teaching her to read and write, grooming her to take his place as a Learned One. In Qilara, the Arnathim, like Raisa, are the lowest class, and literacy is a capital offense. What’s more, only the king, prince, tutor, and tutor-in-training are allowed to learn the very highest order language, the language of the gods. So when the tutor-in-training is executed for teaching slaves this sacred language, and Raisa is selected to replace her, Raisa knows any slipup on her part could mean death.

Goodreads

2. The Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439.jpgHonestly, thank SJM for this recommendation because if Dennard wasn’t her soul twin I probably wouldn’t have read this book.  (Quite honestly I don’t think a lot of people would have).  I’ve heard mixed reviews, but I’m doing it for Sarah.

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery”, a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Goodreads

  1. The Unearthly by Laura Thalassa

18153436.jpg

My love for Laura Thalassa bloomed in nanoseconds upon reading her series The Queen of All That Dies.  So it’s not too far of a stretch that I now want to read all of her books.  This is newest on my list of what to read.  The makeup of the models on her covers are always on point too.  Honestly, the synopsis is pretty generic sounding but I’m reading it anyways.

The first time I was declared dead, I lost my past. The second time, I lost my humanity. Now I’m being hunted, and if I die again, my soul is up for forfeit.

After enrolling in Peel Academy, an elite supernatural boarding school on the British Isles, the last of the sirens, Gabrielle Fiori, only wants to fit in. Instead, the elixir meant to awaken her supernatural abilities kills her.

Goodreads

____________________________

Whew! That’s all.  I hope you guys enjoyed peeking into my Top Ten TBR.  What’s on your TBR?  Are you going to look at any of the books I talked about?

 

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Recently Added to My TBR

  1. Lois says:

    I’ve heard nothing but great things about The Queen of the Tearling and I’ve been meaning to check it out for a while. I hope you get the chance to read it soon and that you enjoy it.
    Sword and Verse and Truthwitch are two books that I’ve been eager to get my hands on. The concepts sound so fascinating and complex. 2016 is shaping up to be a good year for fantasy.

    Like

  2. Annette says:

    I really want to try reading Jeaniene Frost this year. I read a lot of Laurell K Hamilton, Kresley Cole and J R Ward – so I’m no stranger to sexy storylines! RE Laura Thalassa, I’d not heard of her before, but I like the sound of her new book!

    Like

    • cat says:

      Haha believe me, I’ve read some sexier storylines before and maybe it was just the fact I didn’t know Night Huntress had that, but DAMN. Like she is imaginative beyond belief hahah.

      Try out Thalassa’s book The Queen of All That Dies and let me know what you think! I think I’m going to reread the series because I loved it that much. n___n

      Liked by 1 person

      • Annette says:

        I’m trying to clear my physical, on the darn shelf, TBR list at the moment, so I am only allowing myself 2 new books each month. My January/February/March quota is already spent – mostly pre-orders!! But I will put this one of my consideration list, promise!

        Like

      • Annette says:

        Haha, cruel to be kind… I feel so guilty when I see my overstuffed shelves! I need to dump the guilt and this seemed like the best way to do it. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

