Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

16101128.jpg

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Pages: 457
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Published: May 7th 2013

Synopsis:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up. 

WOW, what a book!  Seriously guys, wow!  I am so satisfied that I jumped on this bandwagon and read the book.  It’s not the book I would normally go for but it was actually ridiculously good.  You can clearly tell that Yancey put a lot of thought into the world building and the plot.  It’s a war between humans and “Others” and you get to witness survival, loss, murder, struggle, love, and determination.

“Then you’re just going to have to shoot me, bitch! Just shoot me and get it over with!”

“I’m afraid we may expect something closer to Christopher Columbus’s arrival in the Americas than a scene from Close Encounters, and we all know how that turned out for the Native Americans”.

There was a wide selection of characters.  At first, the book starts off with the journal-like entries of a 16 year old girl named Cassie.  Now I have to say that Yancey did a pretty solid job at tackling how a 16 year old would think.  You get a really good understanding of what she wants, her backstory, and her mission within the first several chapters.

“Why did they come billions of miles just to stare at us? It’s rude.”

I really didn’t like the layout of the book.  The book as a whole has 13 different “sections”.  The first section, like I said earlier, is all about Cassie.  By the second section the first couple of pages kind of confused me.. I didn’t really understand the change in scenery and why Cassie was suddenly with a roommate.  But it wasn’t until the fourth page in the second section that I realized we were in the POV of a male (I was calling him “dude” at this point, because that’s the only “name” that was written).  Lo and behold, each section actually corresponds to a different point of view.  The thing is, I would be semi-okay with this if we were going into the POV of two different characters back and forth, but Yancey was legit throwing character POV’s out of nowhere!  And I realize the point of the different POV’s was so that you could see what was going on in other places… But I really didn’t like how it wasn’t explicitly written as a header at the beginning of each section.  I think not doing that really confuses the reader, and it made me back track a lot.

There was some romance. I actually really liked these chapters because you knew something was brewing in the romance melting pot.  It was really sweet and I think that it served a purpose in this book.  It made certain characters seem more human in a world where being human isn’t the best thing.  And I have to give Yancey some props for being able to make it seem realistic and not some insta-love bullshit.

Putting aside my dislike of Yancey’s layout, I really liked the book!  It was completely full of action and adventure and you were kept on your toes for a lot of it.  Yancey did a really great job at tying everything together by the end, and there wasn’t a huge cliffhanger (I don’t really think you can even call it a cliffhanger).

Lastly, if you didn’t know, the movie comes out January 22nd!  I’ll definitely be going to see it.  The trailer is what finally made me go read the book.  So if you haven’t read it yet, do it!  You won’t be disappointed.

My rating: 4.5/5 stars.

 

 

 

18 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

  1. Yasmin @ The Wild Readers says:

    I remember reading this about a year ago, and I have to say, I was sorely disappointed. I thought that Cassie was a pretty meh character, and I predicted a lot of the major plot points. And I completely agree with the format. I thought some of the perspectives were extremely boring, and others confusing. But what I really wanted from the book, was more elaborations on each of the waves. I thought it was weird how Rick Yancey didn’t really explain the other waves in detail.

    Although, I am quite excited for the movie. The trailer is pretty good, and I’m hoping that I’ll like Chloe Morentz Grace more than I liked Cassie. Great review! 🙂

    Like

  2. ariacello says:

    I am super excited to see the movie! (Hopefully it is not messed up *cough cough City of Bones*)
    Have you read the second one? Are you excited for the third one?

    Like

  3. Combustible reviews says:

    I agree with you on so much about this book. When it suddenly changed to Ben’s POV, I thought it was still Cassie and was like, why is she being called a he now. It was a really abrupt POV change, but I got used to it.

    On the romance front, I am not a romance fan and yet I was fine, even liked, the way the Evan /Cassie was introduced because it’s believable. They were both alone and now suddenly have another person. I’m just hoping it doesn’t turn into a love triangle.

    Like

    • cat says:

      Love triangles are the worst. And yeah the POV changed makes me kind of angry when I reflect back on it. Why not just state it explicitly? It’d take one second to properly title a chapter. Sigh.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Combustible reviews says:

        Is there anyone who actually like love triangles?

        Yeah, it was strange as well because we’d been with Cassie for so long. I felt abandoned. 😥

        I did like reading for other POV despite the abruptness of the switch and at least there was no head hopping.

        Like

  4. Bound to Be Me says:

    I’ve picked this book up once before but I thought it was too similar to another book I’ve read. I want to try this book again before I see the movie. Thanks for the great review. I hope you enjoy the book I’ve reviewed on my blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

