Book Traveling Thursday!

I thought I’d jump on this tag train I see so many book bloggers doing!  This is a weekly tag created by Danielle’s Book Blog and TheGirlWhoReadTooMuch. This Goodreads page will tell you exactly what you need to know in order to participate!  This weeks theme is “New Year, New You!” – choose a book that inspires you.

At first I actually stumbled on this topic.. I read mostly high fantasy / paranormal / dystopia books so I’m either choosing an inspirational assassin (Aelin forever) or some other whacky fictional thing.  However, I went back into the archives of my “Read” shelf and remembered the book Tuesdays with Morrie by Mitch Albom.

6900.jpg

I chose Tuesdays with Morrie because it’s Mitch’s story of an old college professor he became estranged from, only to hear a couple decades later that he was diagnosed with ALS (a fatal, incurable disease).  He revisits his professor and they embark on a journey of learning how to live.  Each Tuesday begins a new lesson – Love, Forgiveness, Loss, etc.

I actually came upon this book in my tenth grade religion class, my teacher showed us the movie and I was verging on sobbing by the end.  The movie is a fantastic representation of the book, but I still recommend EVERYONE read it.

It’s humbling and unsettling, it’s honest and raw.  It’s grounding, 100% grounding.

My favorite cover is the Malaysian one.  I think for such a beautiful lesson plan inside, it deserves a beautiful cover.  Surprisingly my least favorite is the cover I attached above (also the US version).

10332393.jpg

Leave a Reply

