Review: Atlantia by Ally Condie

17731926.jpgAtlantia by Ally Condie

Kindle Edition: 368 pages
Published: October 28th 2014
Publisher: Dutton Children’s
Synopsis:
“Can you hear Atlantia breathing?
For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose.
Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.”
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Can you hear me sighing? Because seriously that’s what this book left me doing.

I’m going to be honest, the first chapter was awesome. If you’ve read the Matched series, you know that Condie has a really beautiful way with words… and she knows exactly how to use them to draw you in. She would get an A+ all around the table for the first chapter, because it made me gasp by the end.

What I do want to point out is that the first chapter REALLY reminded me of Divergent by Veronica Roth. You know when they’re with they’re parents and everyones all nervous because they have to decide their faction?

Divergent20.png
Except in Atlantia, it’s just Rio and her twin sister, Bay (Bae? Bey? crap I forgot already, sorry).
tumblr_nc87stasux1rkresoo1_500
So here Rio is, exactly like Tris deciding on whether she should choose life in the “Below” (aka underwater) or “Above” (land). Only one sibling can go Above or Below. Her dream was always to go Above, but her sister was all,
tumblr_n12a2k7b1o1trw6zto1_500

So what does Rio do?  You’ll have to read and find out the details, but it’s in the first chapter so you won’t have to wait too long.

There’s love, there’s trust, there’s a life-deciding decision to be made, then it ends in betrayal. That’s the first chapter, and quite honestly the excitement really ended there. It became monotonous, Rio is reaching for a goal and, quite frankly, we’re running around in circles for 85% of the book waiting for it to happen.  It’s constant talk about something that’s going to happen and yet it never really does.

It fell flat, which really sucks because I wanted to love this book so much.

The characters were dull, the world was dull, the events were dull, the plot twists were dull. Do you get my point? It was dull.

As most YA books go, there is obviously going to be a love interest. And as much as I wanted to like him, “True Beck” (yes that’s his name… seriously, Condie?) also fell very flat. It was too forced, and quite frankly it was unnecessary. This book is NOT ABOUT ROMANCE, it’s about family. Condie even admits it in the acknowledgements. So why was this unnecessary romance was forced upon us? I shall never know. He would have still helped Rio if they didn’t become love interests, he wanted answers and so did she.

Sigh.

That’s what I’m left with, a sigh that lasts forever.

My rating: 2.5/5 stars
11 thoughts on “Review: Atlantia by Ally Condie

  1. Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny says:

    Nice review, Cat! I personally loathed Matched, so I doubt I’ll pick this up, haha. Welcome to WordPress, btw! ^_^

    Like

    • cat says:

      I think Condie has interesting concepts she just doesn’t execute them well. It’s always so much potential and you’re just let down in the end. I definitely liked Matched more than this. And AWWW thanksssss :]

      Liked by 1 person

      • cat says:

        Oooh I haven’t, I just looked it up on Goodreads. The synopsis reminds me of The Truman Show. Have you seen that? I wonder if they’re alike, I’ll check it out!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Kelly @ Stellar Scrutiny says:

        Well, Matched steals the setting of The Giver almost exactly. That’s the main reason why I didn’t enjoy Matched. :/ I have not see the Truman Show, but I’ve heard of it. 🙂

        Like

      • cat says:

        Ohhh what?? I’ll definitely have to check it out!! I had to watch the Truman Show for my ethics class. It’s pretty interesting, you should check it out n_n

        Liked by 1 person

  2. GryffindorBooks says:

    Aw, sorry you didn’t like this book :/ I haven’t read anything from Ally Condie but my friend has told me to check her out. How’d you like her Matched series?

    Like

    • cat says:

      I liked Matched! I think my problem with her books are that they always sound really promising but they just dont reach their full potential. Atlantia sounded awesome but it fell pretty flat. I like that whole “marry someone you don’t know” idea that’s been spread throughout YA books. If you want a REALLY good one check out The Book of Ivy by Amy Engel. It’s awesome, probably one of my most favorite series.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: The Dimsum Tag!

Leave a Reply

